Learning & Development

Feversham First Steps follows the Every Child Matters (ECM) Framework and also the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The ECM and the EYFS were designed to ensure every child had a good start to life.

The Every Child Matters consists of 5 key outcomes:

  • Stay Safe
  • Be Healthy
  • Enjoy and Achieve
  • Make a Positive Contribution
  • Achieve Economic Wellbeing

The EYFS is a framework in which children develop over time to achieve a number of goals. Children work towards goals through stages of development. It is a framework for children to aim towards looking at their development physically, emotionally, creatively, encouraging language and learning about the world around them. This is supported by staff who scaffold their learning by looking at what your child can achieve already and planning how we are going to take them to the next level, using observations and any evidence collected through other means such as parents feedback and artwork/ drawings. This is collated over time and using assessments ensuring your child is working towards the goals set or planning how we are going to offer extra support for them.

Please click to find out more information about the EYFS